A beginning

I have an ongoing love affair with quotes. I love them. So much, in fact, that one of my blog posts sometime just may have to be about how much I love quotes and why. But skipping all that nerdiness for now, I’d like to go directly to some quotes themselves and share two of my favorites with you. The first is from Gustave Flaubert, and contains the source of inspiration for this blog’s name: “Whereas the truth is that fullness of soul can sometimes overflow in utter vapidity of language, for none of us can ever express the exact measure of his needs or his thoughts or his sorrows; and human speech is like a cracked kettle on which we tap crude rhythms for bears to dance to, while we long to make music that will melt the stars.”

I can promise you, appreciated reader, imperfection and more than enough “utter vapidity of language,” likely enough, in this blog. And I can never say perfectly or fully exactly what it is I mean. (Do you know how deep a source of aggravation that can be?!) My confidence in this helped hold me back for a time from starting a blog in the first place.

There are some things, however, that one simply cannot remain silent on, and imperfect attempts at expression are better than no attempts at all.

Thankfully, I have faith in something (and someone) beyond myself and my own imperfections. This brings me to the second quote, this time from Mother Teresa: “I am a little pencil in the hand of a writing God who is sending a love letter to the world.”

My interests are many and varied. Among them are literature/stories, language(s), culture, travel, people!, adventure (or at the least the notion of it), matters of faith, anthropology, social justice issues, midwifery, thinking, reading, writing, simple and wholesome pleasures, sharing the gospel (good news) of the Lord Jesus Christ, discipleship to Him.

I hope to share some of my thoughts on these, and other, topics in this blog. My guess is there are at least a few people out there who share some of the same interests as myself and who might care to read some of my random, and often too laborious and ill-worded thoughts on them. (If you are one of these, welcome and thanks my friend for looking in on me! I’m not sure exactly where this blogging adventure will take us, but we can find out together, and be jointly surprised.) And maybe, just maybe, a few will even benefit from some of those thoughts.

At the very least, I hope that I myself might grow from this “experiment in expression,” and so aid the process of sharpening the pencil of my little life that I trust a good God to somehow use in the writing of His story of His love for the world. It is, after all, His world. And I am His, too.

2 thoughts on “A beginning

Add yours

  1. “I took the road less traveled by and it has made all the difference”
    Robert Frost

    I return your quote my dear with one of my own. Blogging like so many things is unquie to the person writing them. I won’t often check in as everyone in my opinon deserves their own writing space but on this the beginning of your own diary of life. I wish you the best, in life, love and the adventure that God has in store for you.

    In love,

    Cousin Shannon

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

