Determination

For me:

From Emily Dickinson:

What I can do – I will –
Though it be little as a Daffodil –
That I cannot – must be
Unknown to possibility –

And from the movie Amazing Grace:

[Pitt the Younger speaking] …we’re too young to realize that certain things are impossible. Which is why we will do them anyway.

And now, on a slightly different note, for you:

I’ve been meaning to blog about a couple things that I don’t think I’m going to get around to discussing in detail anytime soon but that I’m also unwilling to just allow to slide by… In short, then, I’m just gonna mention them briefly here, and retain the possibility of writing lengthier posts on them at a later time.

Thing One: I would strongly recommend the documentary With God on Our Side to anyone even slightly interested by the question of Israel/Palestine and the conflict over that land; it is particularly geared towards those who would identify with an Evangelical or Protestant Christian background, but it is by no means exclusive to that audience.

Thing Two: Wendell Berry. What Matters? Economics for a Renewed Commonwealth. Great stuff. Also his “Mad Farmer” poems. Great food for thought. Pun not intended…you’ll understand if you read the book. (Hopefully; I don’t always understand myself, so that statement’s not wholly infallible.)

Thing Three: I’m starting to get super corny, which is a sign that I’m tired and need to stop. Now. Good night.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

