A parody

After thinking about the fact that I’ve spent a full 16, going on 17, years pursuing formal education, I felt…inspired. Please enjoy the following silly-phony, brought to you by Rebekah and Sir Humphrey:

Sixteen Going on Seventeen (A College Senior’s Ballad)

(The Wide World)
You’ve waited grown-up girl
On an empty stage
For books to turn the light on

Your life grown-up girl
seemed an empty page
that school has tried to write on

(Senior)
To write on

(The Wide World)
The years are 16 going on 17
Girlfriend it’s time to think
Better be aware
Be ready and dare-full
Girlfriend you’re on the brink

The years are 16 going on 17
Classes have piled up high
Research and homework
Papers and projects
Have threatened your very life

Emotionally unprepared are you
To face a weight of debt
Pressures for jobs and financial plans
Will hound you, you can bet

You need Someone
Older and Wiser
Guiding you where to go
The I Am That I Am will help you
If Him you’ll seek to know

(Senior)
The years are 16 going on 17
Hope I’m not too naive
Things that I dream, grand plans that I scheme
Are they possible to achieve?

The years are 16 going on 17
Wearisome is the load
Bachelor degrees
Longing for o’erseas
How do I reconcile those?

Emotionally unprepared am I
To face a weight of debt
But finally to be done with school
I’m ready, you can bet!!

I need Someone
Older and Wiser
Leading me what to do
Oh Great I Am That I Am
Help me depend on You

Leave a Reply

