from Bethlehem to Golgotha

Once again, I’d like to offer another’s words for you to peruse today rather than my own…I realize I’ve been doing this a lot lately on here, but I guess a lot of the things I’m interested in are things in which I don’t really have much first-hand experience with (yet), and so others are much better qualified to speak on them than I…Anyway, I thought this article on Life in Bethlehem on the MCC Palestine site was a great piece. In it, a young Canadian woman who is volunteering with MCC in Bethlehem speaks of her experience of working for peace in the region, and urges the Mennonite church to consider again the cost of nonviolence as identified by MLK: sacrifice, suffering, and struggle. Are we who say we value nonviolence and peace efforts, she asks, truly willing to pay this price ourselves?

And I think it is also fitting to note that on this day in the western Church’s calendar, Good Friday, we remember that the Man of Sorrows, the very Prince of Peace, was Himself willing to pay this price-sacrifice, suffering, and struggle-and indeed the ultimate price; and we remember that the earthly journey that began for Him in Bethlehem eventually led him down the via dolorosa and up a hill outside of Jerusalem to be crucified in the ultimate act of nonviolence on behalf of others.

Will we who call ourselves His followers take up our crosses, in our own ways everyday, and follow Him? I pray for the grace to do so, for all of us.

Peace, friends.

RKP

6 thoughts on “from Bethlehem to Golgotha

Add yours

  1. This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your fantastic post. Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks!

    Like

  2. Dear Bekah. I appreciate you.

    This story especially made a big impression on me. I feel as if I would like to be a kindred spirit with you, but I would have a way to go! You have deep and tender thoughts, and you are learning and growing all the time. You stretch my mind, which is good for me. Blessings on you. Keep up the good work. Love in Jesus, Pauline

    Like

    1. Hi Pauline!
      I think we are kindred spirits, and that makes me glad, because you are a woman I would like to be like someday 🙂
      Thanks for everything, and hoping to see you again soon!
      Love you,
      Bekah

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

