in which I give thanks for a simple, glorious gift and a girl who is truly a gem of a friend

This morning, I woke to a wonderful gift piled on my desk.

pile of books

This glorious stack of books containing the work of poets Wendell Berry, Mary Oliver, and Rainer Maria Rilke was left there along with this note from my wonderful roommate:

D's note with books

What she couldn’t have known when she ordered these books for me from I-share libraries on a night last week, during which my Amazon wishlist had come up in our conversation, was that just yesterday and last night, I spent a significant time in our college library searching for books of poetry by these very same writers and was coming up pretty empty…and then I wake to this gift! An unspoken, simple wish fulfilled-thank you, dear friend!! It made my morning rich.

It is grace, nothing but grace, that we are allowed to live in community with Christian brethren.

In ordinary life, we hardly realize that we receive a great deal more than we give, and that it is only with gratitude that life becomes rich.

~Dietrich Bonhoeffer

4 Comments

  1. What a wonderful gift, and an intuitive, caring friend. Thank you for sharing this story and the lovely pictures as well (from a fellow Rilke and Mary Oliver fan).

    Like

      1. I have. I need to read more of him. Thank you for the reminder. Another poet along those lines is Pattiann Rogers. She is sort of where biology, spirit, and poetry meet!

        Like

Leave a Reply

