Wild Week Ten: The Split Week Wilderness Finale

This past week was our last wilderness camp of the summer. We did two day hikes on Monday and Tuesday, to Vista View overlooking Skilak Lake (which I had done with the wilderness staff and some other staff members twice last summer) and to Fuller Lake, which was disgustingly mucky. My lifeguard duties this week included scraping leeches off of more than one camper, and also off of myself: gross!

leeches
leeches

Fortunately, they were rather miniscule, and a light brown color as opposed to the usual black of the other leeches I’ve had the misfortune to encounter before this week. One of my favorite parts of these two days was definitely eating cherries on the way up Vista View, spewing pits and tossing cherry tails off the trail as we hiked along. I ate a summer’s worth of cherries on Monday.

On Wednesday we canoed/portaged out to Birch Lake, where we camped the second week of canoeing with campers at the very beginning of this summer, and hung out there Wednesday night, all of Thursday, and canoed/portaged back out on Friday. It was amazingly easy compared to our other full weeks of canoeing, and a peaceful way to finish out the summer. We also enjoyed a fun evening back (after showers!) back at Base Camp, complete with our usual Friday night breakfast-for-dinner prepared over the fire–pancakes and sausage and bacon–and root beer floats…except I had an Orange Soda float this time. An anomaly to finish things with, I guess. 🙂

canoeing
canoeing

All in all, I’ve had a blast being a wilderness counselor this summer, and I’m so thankful the Lord provided and worked out this opportunity for me, especially since my original plans for this summer were much different…maybe I’ll write about that some other time soon, but not right now. I’m exhausted, and anything more I would write would probably come out sounding more convoluted and short than comprehendible–even more so than these posts may be. But I can’t really tell right now.

I’ve got a final week of counseling coming up this week, at the other program that I worked at during the majority of my time here last summer. I’m looking forward to it. Tomorrow is also my 22nd birthday…feels slightly strange to be turning 22, but I’m actually pretty excited for this birthday, which also feels a bit unusual. I haven’t really gotten super-stoked for any of my birthdays since my 16th six years ago now (what?!) I don’t know completely why the difference! But I am feeling really grateful this year (the Lord’s been teaching me a lot about gratitude and contentment over the past couple of years), and excited to celebrate having completed another year in which I’ve been the possessor of the gift of life, and am also excitedly anticipating the next season of life I will be given…all of life, wherever you are, is a tremendous gift.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

(Know what else I’m grateful for? All of you who have graciously read my blog about my “wild weeks” of summer adventures, and any of you who have also prayed for me or supported me in any other way throughout my time in Alaska this year…so, thanks!! More later, I’m sure. I’m still planning on spending two more weeks in AK this summer…wild or not!)

p.s. The song Landslide by Fleetwood Mac just played on my Pandora station…I really like it, and I thought the words somewhat appropriate for the end of my summer, considering I’ve done a bit of hiking in the mountains and considering my reflections on my upcoming birthday…so here are the words! If you like them, too, maybe look up the song yourself, listen, and enjoy…

I took my love and I took it down
I climbed a mountain and I turned around
And I saw my reflection in the snow covered hills
‘Til the landslide brought me down

Oh, mirror in the sky
What is love?
Can the child within my heart rise above?
Can I sail thru the changing ocean tides?
Can I handle the seasons of my life?

Mmm Mmm… I don’t know… Mmm Mmm… Mmm Mmm…

Well, I’ve been afraid of changing
‘Cause I’ve built my life around you
But time makes you bolder
Children get older
I’m getting older too

So…

I’ve been afraid of changing
‘Cause I, I´ve built my life around you
But time makes you bolder
Children get older
I’m getting older too…
I’m getting older too…

So, take this love, take it down
Oh if you climb a mountain and you turn around
If you see my reflection in the snow covered hills
Well the landslide will bring you down, down

And If you see my reflection in the snow covered hills
Well maybe… The landslide will bring you down
Well well… the landslide will bring you down

DSC_0101

 

Leave a Reply

