poetry post: to remind myself

My Neighbor is Hungry

 

I Was Hungry
and you fed your animals with my food

I Was Hungry
and your transnationals planted your
winter tomatoes on our best land

I Was Hungry
and you wouldn’t give up your steak
from South America

I Was Hungry
but they grow tea for you where rice
might grow for my daily meal

I Was Hungry
but you turned our sugarcane and
manioc into fuel for your cars

I Was Hungry
but the waste from your factories is
poisoning the fishing grounds of the earth

I Was Hungry
but with your money you bought up my food

I Was Hungry
while my land grows exotic fruits for
your table

What Are You Afraid Of?
foregoing excessive and harmful consumption?
having to change your attitudes?
the power of the politicians?
the work involved in achieving greater
self-sufficiency?
the disapproving looks of your neighbors?

What Are You Afraid Of?
I was hungry but you gave me no food.

 

–Author Unknown; Source: Earthkeepers: Environmental Perspectives on Hunger, Poverty, & Injustice by Art & Jocele Meyer (…which I finally just finished reading!)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

