more words

I was gonna write a much longer, much more rambling post tonight – expounding, perhaps, on the ongoing situation in Ferguson, MO and the frenzied Harry Potter series re-read I’ve completed in the past 3 and 1/2 weeks and then some fairly narcissistic thoughts about introducing a new blogging category –  and then I read this (admittedly quoted outside of the context of the surrounding sentences):

The number of times I’ve had Martin Luther King, Jr. and Frederick Douglass quoted at me by people who are basically spending their lives blogging is amazing.

Kinda reminds me of that Thoreau quote I posted a couple of months ago.

So (perhaps needless to say), I don’t think I’ll blog any more on here tonight, after all. I think maybe I’ll be quiet, read and learn a little more, do some thinking…and perhaps some praying. And keep asking some of those perennial questions. What does real activism that actually matters look like?

I don’t know. I wish I did.

Intrigued by the above quote? The original article is called Admit defeat, then engage, presents an excerpt of James Wilt’s interview of Paul Kingsnorth, is published on geezmagazine.org and can be found here. The people I’ve tagged in this post are some of those referenced in the interview.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

