think-provoking things for today

Thing 1:

“I have a theory, that is very unpopular in America, that the worst thing you can ever be is goal-oriented. In America it is taken as a sacred truth that the first step towards self-fulfillment and success it to set yourself goals. And I think that that is the most disastrous thing in life you could ever do…”

(or something to that effect) – from Stephen Fry’s remarks on “Ambition” in his 2010 Hay Festival Alphabet, which you can watch here.

Thing 2:

There’s too many voices saying what I need/Please just let me go at my own speed/I don’t need nobody to tell me who to be/Ready to sting, I am young and free

Thing 3:

Why should we be in such desperate haste to succeed and in such desperate enterprises? If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured or far away. It is not important that he should mature as soon as an apple tree or an oak. Shall he turn his spring into summer?”

-from Walden, which I read for the first time last Jan/Feb. and LOVED (and blogged about extensively already here) and started re-reading again a few days ago. (Incidentally, these words of Thoreau quoted above also put me in mind of those of Psalm 1:3 – especially the “in its season” part…)

With wishes for a peaceful and satisfying final full week in March (already!) for you all,

Bekah

Leave a Reply

