A Metaphysical Rosary

Or, A Compilation of (Apparent) Contradictions I’ve Recently been Contemplating. Here they are – some thoughts I’ve lately been fingering, imperfect pearls on my string of thought; the nature of their connections to one another is not yet fully apparent to me, but I’ve strung them together anyway, and here they be:

I.
“The church, although aware of my identity and warm in their hospitality, was nonetheless polite in the manner of those too liberal to condone violence, but too conservative to challenge custom. That’s the way it is in so many small towns.” – William E Pannell, My Friend, the Enemy (1968)

II.
If there’s such a thing as a political no-[wo]man’s land, between a more conservative background and an inherent but uncertain liberal leaning/future, I think I’m in it.

III.
From a conversation in a car ride – the last leg of a brief road trip to Buffalo and back with an old friend (and the hero of my childhood):

me: See, my problem is – I’m such a nomad and a home-body.
Christa: Me too!
me: So…we’re nobodies?

we laughed

IV.
from Ecclesiastes 7

16 Do not be overrighteous,
    neither be overwise—
    why destroy yourself?
17 Do not be overwicked,
    and do not be a fool—
    why die before your time?
18 It is good to grasp the one
    and not let go of the other.
    Whoever fears God will avoid all extremes.

from Revelation 3

15 I know thy works, that thou art neither cold nor hot: I would thou wert cold or hot.
16 So because thou art lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I will spew thee out of my mouth.

V.
inertia

dictionary.com: [in-ur-shuh, ih-nur-]

noun

  1. inertness, especially with regard to effort, motion, action, and the like; inactivity; sluggishness.
  2. Physics.
    1. the property of matter by which it retains its state of rest or its velocity along a straight line so long as it is not acted upon by an external force.
    2. an analogous property of a force: electric inertia.
  3. Medicine/Medical. lack of activity, especially as applied to a uterus during childbirth when its contractions have decreased or stopped.

High school science class: “Objects in motion tend to stay in motion; objects at rest tend to stay at rest.” – Sir Isaac Newton

Query: Why is it that the only other/non-physical (metaphysical?) usage for this word – inertia – in the English language is a pejorative one? Why is there not a use of the word inertia as an adjective for unceasing, compulsive activity as well as near-unavoidable sloth? (Both sides/extremes of inertia – the thought of unceasing, unresting, incessantly continuous, and imaginably frantic, activity, and paralyzing, apathetic, unmoving stagnancy and inaction – seem repulsive to me.)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

