Jack Dawson’s Worldview – Make it Count

So, as a brief preface, let me just say that the quality of this clip isn’t great (boo), and I know Titanic is, like, a bit cliché or whatever [insert your own high-falutin’, apt adjective here], and that Jack is not only a fictional character, but one who doesn’t even live theoretically beyond the confines of the story, so who knows how well the philosophy that he so eloquently expresses and expounds on here would have actually panned out…but still. I just love it. Every time, it really does make me want to Make. It. Count. Or at least to have a freer lifestyle.

I want to live like this! Most days. (Some days.) At least today…at least today, I want this, I mean. Not so much that I think I’ll live Like This today.

(Because it’s actually evening, and while writing and meaning – or more like wanting to mean, idealistically – the above, I also intend to stay sitting right where I am, in front of my computer screen, for awhile at least, getting more “work” and other such things done. Ok: let’s be honest. At this point, I mean only “other such things,” and not “work,” and by that what I actually mean is prolly more FB and other such crap, and a movie or maybe even two – or more. I’ve done that before. There. Guilt and hypocrisy and bad, lazy habits exposed. And that’s just the tip of the iceberg! [Pun by association intended.] And if I’m being even more honest with myself, I also know that I’m a Planner, a J, not a P [MBTI]; that unpredictability and inconsistency often unsettle me more than I like, and that spontaneity is often extremely difficult for me to wing with grace, or at all, much more than I wish it was. Also, there is all that stuff about the value of roots that I’ve been learning over the past couple of years or so…I’m sensing another one of those Enduring Dialectical Tensions/Life Paradox/Balance/How on earth do these seemingly opposing and mutually exclusive things work together?!?!! type things…THERE. I knew I should’ve named this blog “Confessions of a Post-modern Romantic” or some other shmaltzy, pretentious thing like that.)

But (again) still:

I figure life’s a gift, and I don’t intent on wasting it. You never know what hand you’re gonna get dealt next. You learn to take life as it comes at you…To make each day count.

God grant me the grace (and by grace, I mean, literally Grace – including power, wisdom, and strength) to know how to learn to do this, and to actually simply do it.

Leave a Reply

