Dec. 4: “and rejoice with those who rejoice”

On the heels of writing last evening’s heated, border-line despairing post, I read these words in Henri Nouwen’s book The Return of the Prodigal Son: A Story of Homecoming as I lay in bed last night:

God rejoices. Not because the problems of the world have been solved, not because all human pain and suffering have come to an end, nor because thousands of people have converted and are now praising him for his goodness. No, God rejoices because one of his children who was lost has been found. What I am called to is to enter into that joy. It is God’s joy, not the joy that the world offers. It is the joy that comes from seeing a child walk home amid all the destruction, devastation, and anguish of the world. It is a hidden joy, as inconspicuous as the flute player that Rembrandt painted in the wall above the head of the seated observer.

I am not accustomed to rejoicing in things that are small, hidden, and scarcely noticed by the people around me. I am generally ready and prepared to receive bad news, to read about wars, violence, and crimes, and to witness conflict and disarray. I always expect my visitors to talk about their problems and pain, their setbacks and disappointments, their depressions and their anguish. Somehow I have become accustomed to living with sadness, and so have lost the eyes to see the joy and the ears to hear the gladness that belongs to God and which is to be found in the hidden corners of the world.

I have a friend who is so deeply connected with God that he can see joy where I expect only sadness. He travels much and meets countless people. When he returns home, I always expect him to tell me about the difficult economic situation of the countries he visited, about the great injustices he heard about, and the pain he has seen. But even though he is very aware of the great upheaval of the world, he seldom speaks of it. When he shares his experiences, he tells about the hidden joys he has discovered. He tells about a man, a woman, or a child who brought him hope and peace. He tells about little groups of people who are faithful to each other in the midst of all the turmoil. He tells about the small wonders of God. At times I realize that I am disappointed because I want to hear ‘newspaper news,’ exciting and exhilarating stories that can be talked about among friends. But he never responds to my need for sensationalism. He keeps saying: ‘I saw something very small and very beautiful, something that gave me much joy.’

The father of the prodigal son gives himself totally to the joy that his returning son brings him. I have to learn from that. I have to learn to ‘steal’ all the real joy there is to steal and lift it up for others to see. Yes, I know that not everybody has been converted yet, that there is not yet peace everywhere, that all pain has not yet been taken away, but still, I see people turning and returning home; I hear voices that pray; I notice moments of forgiveness, and I witness many signs of hope. I don’t have to wait until all is well, but I can celebrate every little hint of the Kingdom that is at hand.

This is a real discipline. It requires choosing for the light even when there is much darkness to frighten me, choosing for life even when the forces of death are so visible, and choosing for the truth even when I am surrounded with lies. I am tempted to be so impressed by the obvious sadness of the human condition that I no longer claim the joy manifesting itself in many small but very real ways. The reward of choosing joy is joy itself. Living among people with mental disabilities has convinced me of that. There is so much rejection, pain, and woundedness among us, but once you choose to claim the joy hidden in the midst of all suffering, life becomes celebration. Joy never denies the sadness, but transforms it to a fertile soil for more joy.

Surely I will be called naïve, unrealistic, and sentimental, and I will be accused of ignoring the ‘real’ problems, the structural evils that underlie much of human misery. But God rejoices when one repentant sinner returns. Statistically that is not very interesting. But for God, numbers never seem to matter. Who knows whether the world is kept from destruction because of the one, two, or three people who have continued to pray when the rest of humanity has lost hope and dissipated itself?

From God’s perspective, one hidden act of repentance, one little gesture of selfless love, one moment of true forgiveness is all that is needed to bring God from his throne to run to his returning son and to fill the heavens with sounds of divine joy.

 

Not Without Sorrow 

If that is God’s way, then I am challenged to let go of all the voices of doom and damnation that drag me into depression and allow the ‘small’ joys to reveal the truth about the world I live in. When Jesus speaks about the world, he is very realistic. He speaks about wars and revolutions, earthquakes, plagues and famines, persecution and imprisonment, betrayal and hatred and assassinations. There is no suggestion at all that these signs of the world’s darkness will ever be absent. But still, God’s joy can be ours in the midst of it all. It is the joy of belonging to the household of God whose love is stronger than death and who empowers us to be in the world while already belonging to the kingdom of joy.

This is the secret of the joy of the saints. From St. Anthony of the desert, to St. Francis of Assisi, to Frère Roger Schultz of Taizé, to Mother Teresa of Calcutta, joy has been the mark of the people of God. That joy can be seen on the faces of the many simple, poor, and often suffering people who live today among great economic and social upheaval, but who can already hear the music and the dance in the Father’s house. …

For me it is amazing to experience daily the radical difference between cynicism and joy. Cynics seek darkness wherever they go. They point always to approaching dangers, impure motives, and hidden schemes. They call trust naïve, care romantic, and forgiveness sentimental. They sneer at enthusiasm, ridicule spiritual fervor, and despise charismatic behavior. They consider themselves realists who see reality for what it truly is and who are not deceived by ‘escapist emotions.’ But in belittling God’s joy, their darkness only calls forth more darkness.

People who have come to know the joy of God do not deny the darkness, but they choose not to live in it. They claim that the light that shines in the darkness can be trusted more than the darkness itself and that a little bit of light can dispel a lot of darkness. They point each other to flashes of light here and there, and remind each other that they reveal the hidden but real presence of God. They discover that there are people who heal each other’s wounds, forgive each other’s offenses, share their possessions, foster the spirit of community, celebrate the gifts they have received, and live in constant anticipation of the full manifestation of God’s glory.

This is also what Advent is about — practicing living “in constant anticipation of the full manifestation of God’s glory;” the challenge to choose to listen, not to the darkness – including that in one’s own self – but to the quiet voices of hope; learning to imitate the Father by trying to rejoice in the same manner that He rejoices, and sharing and participating in his Joy; the discipline of being open to being surprised by Joy – again and again and again, and not to give in to cynicism and defeat and despair, as overwhelming as these forces often feel; “Rejoicing in hope…” (Rom. 12:12), and not contributing to the darkness by proclaiming how great it is, but rather, celebrating the light  – every bit of it, however small. Have you ever lit a single candle in the dark woods at night, and then gone several feet away – a quarter mile or more? You can see it from quite far off.

It’s striking me afresh what a powerful symbol candles can be and are – how meaningful it is to light those candles, even just a single one, in our Advent wreaths. So light that first candle, and prepare to celebrate – there is still darkness, much of it, but light has come into the world to shine in that darkness, and the darkness has not, and will not, overcome it.

 

One Comment

  1. Bekah, Thank you for the extensive quote from Henri Nouwen (especially as a followup to “mourn for those who mourn”!!!).  He has spiritual eyes.  Most of us fall into the “seeing they do not see” (Mt. 13:13) category.  I am reminded of the St. Seraphim of Sarov quote:  “Acquire the Holy Spirit and thousands around you will be saved.”  It seems that one of the greatest seductions of this age is to make everything about ME. . . and individualistic focus on taking on the world and all its challenges (Remember an Army of One campaign?).  But at most we are only servants in the community of the King. Jana and I just returned from a deer hunting trip on Kodiak Island.  One very strong lesson I learned was that I cannot see very well.  The two young guys with us saw deer where I could see none.  They saw antlers where I could only see deer.  They saw foxes and ermines that I could only see after very specific and detailed direction.  “And seeing you will see and not perceive” (Mt. 13:14).  So this humbling experience reminds me that what I think I see is not perceived very well sometimes (most times?), that maybe I should not take my supposed perceptions too seriously or absolutely, and that above all I need a spiritual guide to direct my faltering perceptions  and help “enlighten the eyes of my understanding.” 

    Why did the Second Person of the Trinity humble Himself and take on the form of a little child?  Because He loves us, because He wants us to come home, because He wants us to be in communion with Him, because He wants us to return to Paradise, because He wants us to be His children, children of God. The Reformation theology of “Christ was born so He could die to appease a wrathful God” is far from the “merciful God who loves mankind” of the historic church.  The real work of the Servant of God is to grow and mature in our relationship with God, in other words, to acquire the Holy Spirit.  “Seek first the Kingdom of God. . . ” Dick

    Like

Leave a Reply

