poetry post: a meeting of poetry, politics, peace and trees

It is World Poetry Day, today – or so NPR informs me.

In honor of the day, I’d like to share a poem by Wendell Berry (one of my regular go-to’s) that’s been on my mind quite a bit lately – I think it’ll also serve (at least for now) as the extent of my political commentary on the current general state of things in the US w/ the ongoing campaign and all (which has also been on my mind quite a bit lately). Furthermore, since today also happens to be International Day of Forests, this poem seems triply fitting to post (poetry; politics; nature).

So – here it is:

THE PEACE OF WILD THINGS

When despair for the world grows in me
and I wake in the night at the least sound
in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be,
I go and lie down where the wood drake
rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds.
I come into the peace of wild things
who do not tax their lives with forethought
of grief. I come into the presence of still water.
And I feel above me the day-blind stars
waiting with their light. For a time
I rest in the grace of the world, and am free.
May Peace and Grace find you today, friends, whoever and wherever you may be, and whatever the story of which you are finding yourself a part.
-R.K.
Leave a Reply

