for today (& all the other days)

Parker Palmer: “The Quaker teacher Douglas Steere was fond of saying that the ancient human question ‘Who am I?’ leads inevitably to the equally important question ‘Whose am I?’ – for there is no selfhood outside of relationship.” Let Your Life Speak

And (of course) Wendell Berry:

No, no, there is no going back.
Less and less you are
that possibility you were.
More and more you have become
those lives and deaths
that have belonged to you.
You have become a sort of grave
containing much that was
and is no more in time, beloved
then, now, and always.
And so you have become a sort of tree
standing over the grave.
Now more than ever you can be
generous toward each day
that comes, young, to disappear
forever, and yet remain
unaging in the mind.
Every day you have less reason
not to give yourself away.

& this (also WB):

I know that I have life
only insofar as I have love.

I have no love
except it come from Thee.

Help me, please, to carry
this candle against the wind.

Feeling very grateful today (my 25th birthday..!) for this incredible gift that is my life, and all the people and other created beings who are inextricably a part of it.

Spent a fun day in Woodstock with a friend; my exhausted puppy’s asleep at my feet.

 

…My cup runneth over; surely goodness and love shall follow me all the days of my life…                  (see Psalm 23)

And now the puppy’s run away and put himself to bed in his crate! About time for me to do likewise. Today was just about perfect. And then, tomorrow – on with candle-carrying! Another day, another adventure, just as much a gift as this one…only, it’s sometimes hard to remember that on days when it’s not your birthday! Maybe that’s part of what makes birthdays so special – they have this incredible potential to remind us of how precious life is, and how inestimably precious is our own unique life in particular…

I’m so glad for mine. I hope to live it as fully as possible – and well.

2 Comments

  1. Bekah, Belated Happy Birthday.  Love the puppy stories.  We are back in Alaska at long last.  Been gone all summer. Dick

    Like

Leave a Reply

